- Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
- What happens if you pocket the white ball?
- Who wins if 8 Ball goes in on break?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- What happens if the 8 ball goes in first?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink the black ball on the break?
- What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
- What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
- What happens if you sink the cue ball in pool?
Is it legal to jump a ball in pool?
3.27 JUMP SHOTS Unless otherwise stated in rules for a specific game it is legal to cause the cue ball to rise off the bed of the table by elevating the cue stick on the shot, and forcing the cue ball to rebound from the bed of the table.
Any miscue when executing a jump shot is a foul..
What happens if you pocket the white ball?
When the Cue Ball, that is, the white ball is pocketed, generally inadvertently, it is called a “scratch” or “table scratch” and is considered a foul.
Who wins if 8 Ball goes in on break?
An automatic win for the player breaking, however, if the cue ball is scratched when making the 8-ball on the break, the opponent wins the game. Option #2. The breaker may ask for a rerack or have the 8-ball spotted and continue shooting.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
What happens if the 8 ball goes in first?
When the table is open it is legal to hit any solid or stripe or the 8-ball first in the process of pocketing the called stripe or solid. However, when the table is open and the 8-ball is the first ball contacted, no stripe or solid may be scored in favor of the shooter.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you sink the black ball on the break?
(c) If the black ball is pocketed on the break, all the balls are re-racked and the same player breaks again. Any violation of 6.1 Cue Ball Scratch or off the Table or 6.5 Ball Driven off the Table is ignored on a break that pockets the black ball.
What happens if you hit your opponent’s ball first in Pool?
You don’t have the right to hit the other player’s balls first. The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. … The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
What are the odds of sinking the 8 ball on the break?
The data showed this happening 5.9% of the time (vs. 0.8% for a 1st-ball break). If you play under rules where making the 8 on the break is a win (e.g., in the APA league system), the 2nd-ball break might be a good option because of the huge potential payoff of winning on the break.
What happens if you sink the cue ball in pool?
Under standard 8-ball rules, if a player sinks the cue ball during her turn, play is passed over to her opponent, who is allowed to place the cue ball anywhere on the table for his next shot.