- What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
- Is hitting the 8 ball first a scratch?
- What are fouls in 8 ball?
- Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on break?
- Can you lose on a table scratch?
- What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- What are the rules to 8 ball pool?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What happens if the 8 ball goes in?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
- Is Table scratch a real rule?
What are the rules when you scratch in pool?
3.20 CUE BALL SCRATCH It is a foul (scratch) if on a stroke, the cue ball is pocketed.
If the cue ball touches an object ball that was already pocketed (for example, in a pocket full of object balls), the shot is a foul..
Is hitting the 8 ball first a scratch?
I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
What are fouls in 8 ball?
An 8-ball foul occurs when the 8-ball comes to rest off of the pool table, when the 8-ball is pocketed in the wrong pocket or out of sequence, or when the 8-ball is pocketed while a foul occurred (i.e., shooting player pockets the 8-ball and simultaneously scratches).
Do you win if you sink the 8 ball on break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Can you lose on a table scratch?
If you take a shot and the cue ball isn’t pocketed but fails to hit an object ball and a bunker, or drive an object ball into a bunker, that is a “table scratch”. The implications of a scratch can be loss of game, penalty of a stroke, turning play over to your opponent, or some combination of these.
What happens if you sink the white ball on the black?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Do you lose if you scratch on the 9 ball?
2. If the cue ball is pocketed or driven off the table, or the requirements of the opening break are not met, it is a foul, and the incoming player has cue ball in hand anywhere on the table. … However, if the cue ball is scratched when making the nine ball, the nine ball is respotted.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break in Pool?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent gets ball-in-hand. … On the first shot after the break, the player at the table (the breaker if a ball was pocketed; otherwise the opponent) has the option to “push out,” where the cue ball can be hit anywhere, with or without contact with object balls or rails.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
Even if you successfully pocket an object ball, you scratch if the cue ball drops into any pocket and you lose your turn. The rules also note that if a pocket is full of balls and the cue ball touches one of the pocketed balls, it is a scratch.
What are the rules to 8 ball pool?
Eight Ball is a call shot game played with a cue ball and fifteen object balls, numbered 1 through 15. One player must pocket balls of the group numbered 1 through 7 (solid colors), while the other player has 9 thru 15 (stripes). THE PLAYER POCKETING HIS GROUP FIRST AND THEN LEGALLY POCKETING THE 8-BALL WINS THE GAME.
Do pool balls get old?
after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What happens if the 8 ball goes in?
If the player pockets the 8 ball and commits a foul or pockets it into another pocket than the one designated, then the player loses the game. Otherwise (i.e., if the 8 ball is neither pocketed nor knocked off the table) the shooter’s turn is simply over, even if a foul occurs.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball in?
Cue Ball Scratch: If you pocket the cue ball on break, it is considered as scratch. Then the playing turn goes to the opponent. Scratch can also occur when you directly hit the opponent’s object ball with the cue ball. Your opponent can place the cue ball on the table at any position of his choice.
Is Table scratch a real rule?
A table scratch happens when you hit the cue ball or object balls in a way that isn’t legal, but don’t actually pocket the cue ball. This is sometimes called a “foul”. These are the rules for a legal shot: The cue can strike the cue ball only once.