- Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
- What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit a ball off the table?
- What happens if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
- Do you get 2 shots on the black pool?
- Do you win if you scratch on the 8 ball?
- Do pool balls get old?
- What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
- Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What happens if you hit the cue ball off the table?
- When you scratch where does the cue ball go?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What happens if you sink the white ball when you’re on the black ball?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
- Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
- Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Do you have to move the cue ball on a scratch?
If you scratch on the break, your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere behind the head string (i.e., “in the kitchen”); and in executing the next shot, the cue ball must cross the head string before contacting any object ball.
What happens when the black ball leaves the table?
If the cue ball is potted or driven off the table, then that too is a foul. More about fouls and their consequences in blackball pool below. Any fouls on the break are ignored if the black ball is potted. If that happens the object balls are always racked again and the same player breaks.
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket. If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table.
Is it a scratch if you hit a ball off the table?
When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. 4. … If any object ball is jumped off the table, it is a foul and loss of turn, unless it is the 8-ball, which is a loss of game.
What happens if you sink the 8 ball on the break?
Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game. … After the break, the table is open regardless of whether or not any balls have been pocketed.
Do you get 2 shots on the black pool?
From what I Remember and this only applies to the game blackball. it’s technically not two shots. The shot immediately following the foul is a free shot, from where the ball lies. “not ball in hand”.
Do you win if you scratch on the 8 ball?
When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.
Do pool balls get old?
The average billiard balls wear out after about a year of use to a size that is no longer considered to meet specifications. The cue ball will degrade faster due to constantly being struck by cue tips. However, if your pool table isn’t subjected to much use, then your balls can last well over a year.
What happens if you scratch on the break in Pool?
SCRATCH ON A LEGAL BREAK. If a player scratches on a legal break shot, (1) all balls pocketed remain pocketed (exception, the 8-ball: see rule 9), (2) it is a foul, (3) the table is open.
Is it a scratch if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
The short answer: As long as you hit your ball first and did not scratch, there is no foul. It is simply your opponent’s turn now.
What happens if you hit the cue ball off the table?
What Happens if the Cue Ball (White Ball) Goes Off The Table? If your cue ball goes off the table during game play, then it is a foul and your opponent gets to place the cue ball anywhere behind the Foot Spot. This is usually how it’s played for bar rules. … This means you can place the ball anywhere on the table.
When you scratch where does the cue ball go?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
note the 8 ball is never neutral, so it can only legally be hit first when it’s your last ball. the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you sink the white ball when you’re on the black ball?
In most games if the balls are touching the white has to be played away from the ball it is touching. If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
Yes, you can use your opponent’s ball as the middle ball of a three ball combo. … The only call the shooter must make is which ball will be pocketed in which pocket, and if the table was open the pocketed ball becomes the first of the shooter’s category.
Is it a scratch if you miss all the balls?
means that you either hit the cue ball into a pocket, your opponent’s ball into a pocket, or you didn’t hit any balls at all. When you scratch, you automatically lose your turn. I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot).
Do you have to call every shot in pool?
Calling the Shots If the shot is obvious, you don’t have to call it, but your opponent is entitled to ask if he or she is not sure. If you pot a ball that you did not call (called “slopping”), official rules say to leave the ball in the pocket. However, many people prefer to return the slopped ball to the footspot.