- What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
- What are the rules for 3 Ball?
- Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
- What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
- Is ball in hand a real rule?
- Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
- Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
- Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
- What happens when the cue ball goes into a pocket?
- Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
- What does an 8 ball stand for?
- Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
- What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
- What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
- Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
What happens if you don’t hit your ball in pool?
The primary two rules of a legal shot are: you must hit one of your balls first and then any ball (including the cue ball or opponent’s ball) must either hit a rail or go in a pocket.
If you don’t make a legal shot, the other player gets ball in hand, meaning they can put the cue ball anywhere on the table..
What are the rules for 3 Ball?
One ball is placed at the head of the triangle, and the other two balls are placed directly behind it. Each game of 3 Ball begins as soon as the cue ball crosses the head string during a break shot. When a foul occurs, one additional shot is assessed to the offending player’s score.
Where does the cue ball go when you scratch?
Tournament rules are “ball in hand”, which means that if you scratch the ball your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table, without any restrictions. By contrast, bar rules require you to put the cue ball in the “kitchen”, which is the area behind the head spot where you break.
What happens if the white ball goes in before the black?
If you shot the white onto the black ball it would be considered a push shot as the tip of the cue would be in contact with the white as it hits the black. This is a foul and a foul on the black is lose of game. … Even if the black ball was the only one left if the white ball goes down, you lose.
Is ball in hand a real rule?
3.40 CUE BALL IN HAND FOUL During cue ball in hand placement, the player may use his hand or any part of his cue (including the tip) to position the cue ball. When placing the cue ball in position, any forward stroke motion of the cue stick contacting the cue ball will be considered a foul if not a legal shot.
Do you lose if you scratch on the break?
If you scratch on the break you don’t automatically lose, the other player just gets ball in hand behind the head string. Likewise, if you sink the 8 ball on the break, you don’t win. You either spot the 8 ball or re-rack. Traditionally, 8 ball is a “call shot” game.
Do you lose if you miss the black ball?
a) If a player pockets the black ball before all the balls in their own group10, the player loses the game. … d) A player who clearly fails to make any attempt to play a ball of their own group will lose the game.
Is it a scratch in pool if you hit the opponent’s ball first?
I have found three ways to “scratch”: 1)The cue ball strikes the 8-ball first (unless it is the only legal shot). 2)The cue ball strikes one of your opponent’s balls first. 3)The cue ball does not strike a rail or a legal ball.
What happens when the cue ball goes into a pocket?
Pocketing the Cue Ball When the cue ball goes into the pocket during your shot, this is considered a foul no matter what rules you’re playing by. … Then the opponent will have to place the ball behind the head string and make contact with a ball beyond the head string.
Can you hit opponents ball first in 8 ball?
Imagine my black over hole being covered with opponent’s ball and I have ball in hand. I must call opponent’s ball to pot black for win as unable to hit black directly with white. 8-ball made on an illegal shot: As player 1 has called 8-ball and the pocket, he cannot make contact with any other ball first.
What does an 8 ball stand for?
An 8 ball is one eighth of an ounce of a drug (usually cocaine). It can also refer to a mix of crack-cocaine and heroin as well as the malt-liquor brand Olde English 800. Sometimes, it can act as a derogatory term for a black person.
Can you combo off an opponent’s ball?
Yes, you can, and any ball(s) made with such a shot stays down. … the cue ball is not ever considered an object ball. combo’s you must hit one of your balls first. an opponents ball or the “8″ can be in the middle of a multi ball combo but you must pocket your ball.
What happens if you hit a ball in and scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
What happens if you scratch in 3 ball?
An uncommonly required but “serious consequences” variant is that if one sinks all three object balls on the break but also scratches or otherwise fouls, this is an instant loss instead of a score of two, taking the form of the player receiving the maximum allowed score (see above), which is technically still tieable, …
Do you lose if you hit the 8 ball in?
PLAYING THE 8-BALL. When shooting at the 8-ball, a scratch or foul is not loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped from the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. Note: A combination shot can never be used to legally pocket the 8-ball.